Thoughts, information and reflections about technology

Windows Easy Transfer and HP Recovery Partititions – BEWARE

I was trying to use Windows Easy Transfer to transfer files and settings from a client’s old HP laptop to a new Dell Laptop.

I saw that the Easy Transfer was going to copy the contents of the D drive from the old to the new. That ***could*** either fill up or overwrite the recovery partition on the new laptop.

When I went in to uncheck the d:recovery folder on the old machine’s “Easy Transfer” it would crash on the old machine. That happened every time I tried to uncheck the recovery folder.

Be VERY careful using this utility. Had I not checked which files and folders would be transferred, I would have most likely wrecked the recovery partition on the new laptop.

BTW – I rebooted the old PC and tried connecting and selecting again. That seemed to work.

Similar Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact me
Archives
Categories
Amazon Disclosure

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.